Our Voices – Who Speaks for Us?

A student-devised collaboration with OSAPR

Directed by Megan Jones ’16
Produced by Julius Bright Ross ’17 and Emily Bergquist ’18

Friday, April 22nd at 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 23rd at 7 p.m.

Run time: 1 hour 30 minutes with intermission. There will be a talk-back after each show.

Email [email protected] for tickets.

Our Voices – Who Speaks for Us? will be a student-devised performance designed to share stories both from survivors of sexual assault and about rape culture on our campus in general. Sexual violence is an epidemic on Harvard’s campus, and the need for meaningful engagement with this issue could not be clearer or more pressing. Our Voices—while privileging the voices of students on this campus—will be presented in collaboration with the Office of Sexual Assault Prevention & Response (OSAPR). Our Voices will be a space for storytelling and for sharing and we hope it will build on the work done at this semester’s Rally for Sexual Assault Survivors. The show will take place at the end of April–Sexual Assault Awareness Month (SAAM)–and it will be the capstone of OSAPR’s SAAM programming.

We invite all Harvard students and affiliates to submit work. We will welcome submissions of all kinds: sculpture, dance, song, monologue, performance art, digital media, stand-up comedy, etc. You need not be a survivor of sexual assault in order to submit–we know that rape culture, in all its forms, affects everyone and we want this to be as open a space as possible. If you have thoughts about or comments on or stories of rape culture, we hope you’ll share them with us–short or long, personal or not. You can elect to present your own story/piece, to adapt it with us for someone else to present, or to remain anonymous.

To submit, please visit our form at bit.ly/OurVoices2016. And if you would like to be involved in this production in any way (either as a collaborator, a designer, or a speaker (reading your own words or reading an anonymous submission), please contact us at [email protected]. For speakers, absolutely no acting experience is required.

Be advised that our material may cause discomfort, as it will be based on real student accounts. We aim, however, to create the safest space possible for our audience and anyone is more than welcome to leave at any time.

Director … Megan Jones
Producer … Julius Ross
Producer … Emily Bergquist
OSAPR Rep … Meera Seshadri
Set Designer … Katie Polik
Lighting Designer … Eva Monroe
Collaborators/Writers … Tess Davison, Bridget Duffy, Sofia Escudero, Nicky Hirschorn, Eriko Kay, Vivi Maymi, Olivia Miller, Andrea Ortiz, Eli Rivas, Mike Ross, Brianna Suslovic, Rachel Talamo